Aaron Rodgers Wins 2011 MVP

There are 50 voters for the NFL’s MVP award. 48 of them chose Aaron Rodgers. He is the first Packer to win the award since Brett Favre won the last of his three consecutive MVPs. He set team records for touchdown passes (45), yards (4643), and set the NFL record for passer rating with 122.5, eclipsing Peyton Manning’s record of 121.1. Rodgers was nothing if not deserving.

The award caps an amazing year for Wisconsin sports. The Packers and Brewers are rarely competitive at the same time, but this year they had eerily similar seasons. Both teams set franchise records for regular season victories, with 15 and 96. Both teams had a league MVP, with Ryan Braun winning the NL MVP back in November. Braun and Rodgers even look a little alike, though the Californians’ resemblance does have precedent; Brett Favre and former Brewer Geoff Jenkins were famously hard to tell apart.

Neither team could duplicate its regular season success in the playoffs. The Brewers lost to the eventual world champion St. Louis Cardinals. The Packers fell to the New York Giants, who will play in today’s Super Bowl. Should they beat the Patriots, that would be one more piece of symmetry.

Whichever way the Super Bowl goes, the last year or so has been  a joy for fans to follow. It all started with Aaron Rodgers winning a different, more meaningful MVP award — the Super Bowl MVP. Now he has a regular season award to put next to it on his shelf. May he win several more. Of each.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s