About

About the Blog

The iron law of politics is that inertia always wins. Hence the name of this blog.

The main focus here is regulation. I also write about economics, politics (I’m a proud independent), history, literature, thinkers I admire, media, books, and sports.

The underlying philosophy at Inertia Wins is liberalism, in the word’s original sense. Fans of Locke, Hume, Voltaire, Adam Smith, Bastiat, and Hayek will find a lot to like here.

The indecipherable scribbling in the banner picture above is the beginning of the Magna Carta. It represents the kind of inertia that I hope will prevail in the long run.

All opinions on this blog are mine, and not necessarily my employer’s.

About the Author

Ryan Young is Fellow in Regulatory Studies at the Competitive Enterprise Institute. Ryan’s research focuses on the regulatory state at large, as well as individual rules. He emphasizes institution-level changes and increased transparency as the most effective reforms. His writing has appeared in USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, Politico, Investor’s Business Daily, and many other outlets.

He also hosts the CEI Podcast and writes the popular “Regulation of the Day” feature for Open Market, CEI’s staff blog.

Ryan holds an M.A. in economics from George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia, and a B.A. in history from Lawrence University in Appleton, Wisconsin. He was previously CEI’s 2009-2010 Warren T. Brookes Journalism Fellow, and worked in the Cato Institute’s government affairs department.

Advertisements

One response to “About

  1. Pingback: Case Study: Would You Risk It All for Grapes and Beans? « Remnant Culture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s